Saxon Shires

Saxon Shires is a cheese that is made by taking five of Great Britain’s famous cheeses: Double Gloucester, Leicester, Lancashire, Derby and Cheddar and combining them in layers. The different layers create not only a visually appealing cheese, but also a harmonious blend of flavors as each layer alternates from mild to sharp.  Although it has the flavor components of all five cheeses, Saxon Shires, as a whole, contains the sharp and tangy flavor components that people typically associate with cheddar.

Country: England
Region: Gloucester, Leicester, Lancashire, Derby and Cheddar
Texture: Semi-Firm
Type of milk: Cow
Aging time: At least 6 months
Pasteurized: Yes